1 Comment

There doesn’t have to be bright sunshine and color all the time.

It is a rainy gloomy Saturday. As I sipped my tea trying to wake up I skimmed though my Facebook wall. I noticed I was drawn to the black and white photos that were posted. Must be that kind of day! I have tons of photos I have not shared. My thought was to decide which one to post. I was looking for one of my more recent waterfall photos. However I clicked on a different folder, by accident or not depending on how you look at it. There was the photo I used in my previous blog. So why not just go with it. A themed black and white small showcase. The sun always shines during the day even if it is hidden behind the clouds. Take away the color or the rose colored glasses and you are able to see things for what they really are. Sometimes what you are looking for is right in front of you in clear black and white. Many times it’s filled with a pleasant shade of grey.

reflect on the past for a better future

This was taken at Fayette Historic Townsite in upper Michigan. I enjoy taking a road trip to explore at least once a year. I am drawn to waterfalls and ghost towns. Every abandoned building has a story. I came across this place a few years ago and when we were back in the general area I wanted to go back. I believe this one is the Doctor’s house. I seem to be drawn to this one particularly. I imagine it has to do with a sense of healing.
http://www.exploringthenorth.com/fayette/town.html

Trinity Lutheran Church - Milwaukee

Trinity Lutheran Church – Milwaukee
It is on the historic Pabst Brewery site.
The church was founded by immigrants from Pomerania, Germany in 1847. It was in 2 other locations previous to this one. It’s current location, known as Terrace Garden, was constructed in 1878. The building was designed by Fredrick Velguth in Victorian Gothic style. The building was declared a Milwaukee landmark in 1967, a State Historical Landmark in 1979 and placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1979.
Every time I pass it I am drawn to the architecture and history of the area.

Pabst Brewery site, cream city brick

A different view of a building on the historic Pabst Brewery site. I could spend hours walking around the area staring at the cream city brick imagining what it was like.

Milwaukee Art Museum at night

Another staple of downtown Milwaukee along the lakefront. The Art Museums’s Quadracci Pavilion and fountain. It is the first Calatrava-designed building to be completed in the United States. Another building/area I could spend hours photographing.

winter reflection, Grant Park Mill Pond

The Mill Pond formed in the early 1840’s, located in historic Grant Park, South Milwaukee, WI
http://www.smfomp.org/history.html
A great place to take a peaceful drive or walk.

Milwaukee Pierhead Lighthouse

Milwaukee Pierhead Lighthouse on the shores of Lake Michigan and the Milwaukee River. This was taken on one of the coldest days in 2010.
http://www.terrypepper.com/lights/michigan/milwpierhead/milwpierhead.htm

winter's flowing reflection

My love of waterfalls. This is one of my favorite black and white waterfall photos. In the dead of winter you can see everything.

Caring Love

May you always be wrapped in the arms of caring love.

One comment on “There doesn’t have to be bright sunshine and color all the time.

  1. There’s certainly a lot to find out about this issue. I like all
    the points you’ve made.

Leave a Reply

